It’s So Annoying When People Tell You About Their Nonsensical Dreams, Isn’t It?

by gillis

I had six or seven cats clutched to my midsection as I carefully crossed the trestle bridge. It looked just as rickety as you’d imagine, with some missing crosspieces. I couldn’t remember the name for the wooden crosspieces that go across the tracks, and that distracted me. Greatly. So much so that I looked up and found myself at an internet cafe that had started out looking sleek and super modern and morphed into an old timey train station.  Maybe steampunk describes it, but maybe not. The cats in my hands had been replaced with two blue balloons, which were quite heavy despite the fact that they were floating. The irony was completely lost on me at the time. Suddenly exhausted, I sat down and waited for what I thought was a train but turned out instead to be my sister-in-law who needed my help tailoring her red, bias-cut, silk gown. It had one long sleeve and one bare shoulder and the sleeve needed to be pinned up just a bit. I went into my kitchen, but not my kitchen, to search the junkdraw for needle and thread. When I returned, my sister-in-law’s shoulders had become impossibly small and her arms dangled at odd angles. Somehow this was my fault and I knew I had to fix it so I began to push her arms up, with great force, which made her scream. At this point, her screams were replaced with the cries of a cat. This time it was no virtual cat, but a lonely nocturnal one who actually exists in what I like to think of as the real world, and I opened my eyes to see the angry red numbers on my alarm clock reading 3:42.