Universal Lessons in Stirrups

by gillis

Karma. Simple concept. You put the energy out into the universe and like a psychic boomerang it comes back to you. Sometimes karma changes its appearance and it takes you awhile to see through the dye job, the weight loss, or the new glasses. Other times you recognize it immediately and you greet karma with a warm hug. Or you turn your grocery cart and move in the other direction when karma comes your way uninvited.

So why the surprise when I’m forced out of my comfort zone and pushed to work with strangers? Or even worse, colleagues? Don’t I make a living grouping awkward middle schoolers into pairs and trios against their will? Why should I be spared the indignity myself? And yet, when I’m asked to partner up at a PD workshop or made to endure a ghastly ice breaker activity, I react as though someone were telling me I needed to scoot down a little more and plant my feet firmly into the stirrups. Every time. It’s a personal affront.

I am a believer in the universe, the divine creator, or perhaps someone named Marsha, handing us out the lessons that we need to learn in this life. I recognize also that I am a slow student, or at least a reluctant one who demonstrates inconsistent effort. I get the same lessons handed back to me for revisions a lot. When it comes to learning social skills and being connected with other humans, I’m the kid who leaves the room and hides in the bathroom for 15 minutes to avoid the work. I would much rather do the work involved in writing a 20 page report on parasitic diseases by myself than work for 30 minutes with a group of people on poster depicting the steps to making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I don’t practice what I preach. And I make kids work with other kids not of their choosing sometimes. I want to believe that I do this so that they will be better humans than I am. No, scratch that, I want whoever might be reading this to believe that I do this so that my students will be better humans than I am. What I really think is that it is good for them to get used to working with people they might not choose as partners because this will keep happening to them in school and work. I ask them to do it because sometimes I want the students to benefit from some groupthink. Sometimes I want the work to be done efficiently. Sometimes I just want them to build up their social skills so it’s not so painful for them when they are told to scoot down and firmly plant their feet into the stirrups.