3 Things That Unexpectedly Turned Out Very Well This Week

by gillis

Sometimes I just want to sit on my couch, sip something warm, and hide. This week was like that to the tenth degree, but in retrospect, I’m glad I didn’t indulge myself.

I felt lousy Tuesday night and it was raining heavily so the last thing I wanted to do was to leave the house again after coming home and pulling dinner together. I dragged myself, and my 3 year old son, out to the high school to watch our school district’s first-ever choral festival. It was well worth the schlep. Uplifting? Check. Community building? Check. The highlight was when the elementary chorus sang a Mumford and Sons tune that was particularly moving, their voices  were so earnest and true, it brought me to tears. Which I said were caused by the bug I was fighting off. Coward.

Thursday after school I had a to-do list a mile long, but there was an opportunity to have a free acupuncture session in the staff room at school. I waffled, should I take the time? Or not? I took the time. It was lovely. In a quiet and darkish room, I sat still while those tiny needles felt like piranha teeth going into my ears. The pain blunted quickly and soon there was only a pleasant hot glow on my ears. I didn’t fall asleep (Thanks to Jaden Mafiroff, who wasn’t waiting outside when his mother came to pick him up, making an all-call announcement necessary. That may have blocked my qi right there.), but I did lose track of time for a bit. Well worth the time it took to forget about time for awhile.

I felt punk enough earlier in the week to consider cancelling our book group meeting Thursday night because it was my turn to host. My house wasn’t nearly clean enough because I took the time to have acupuncture. I didn’t have enough time to groom myself properly by the time the first SUV rolled into the driveway. I didn’t want everyone to see my new house this way, but I was also too lazy earlier in the week to make all those calls to cancel or reschedule. My husband whisked the kids away, and the group chatted, laughed, nibbled, laughed, drank, laughed, talked books, and laughed. It was wonderful to see everyone, and they didn’t care that I looked like a Thursday night during a long week. I warned all of them I’d be blogging about them sometime soon -and I will – just as soon as I can come up with the proper aliases.

All in all, I’m glad I didn’t hang back too much this week.

