Disjointed Ramble? Don’t Mind if I Do!

by gillis

Can it really be Tuesday? Already? And I have nothing planned to write about again this week? Each week I tell myself I will write down a few things that happen during the week so that I can revisit them Monday at some point and try to cobble something together for this weekly post, but so far I haven’t been able to do that. Strap on a seatbelt and get ready for a mess or two, I don’t see a clear plan emerging.

You see, things are actually getting quite messy around here, and that wouldn’t be such a surprise with two kids and two adults who work full time with commutes that last 30+ minutes most days. But we’ve spent the past 8 months keeping this house at near pristine condition. I say “near” pristine because one of our kids has not yet turned 3 and he likes to live large. He also likes to leave his mark, literally, on furniture, walls, and wait for it, just yesterday, orange Sharpie marker on the marble counter (ivory of course) in the bathroom. This house has been on the market since early October of 2011 and it’s been shown about once a week, which means of course that we’ve been cleaning constantly during this school year. The good news is that it has finally sold and we can let loose a little bit. The bad news is – well, our house has sold and we have to get everything in it boxed up and should probably now think about finding a place to live that doesn’t involve four-wheel drive and anti-lock brakes because we need to vacate the premises by June 4th. Did I just read that correctly? June 4th? Of this year? Need to be out of here? Hmm…That’s 27 days. Fewer days than the average menstrual cycle. Well, that just can’t be right. Except that it is, and we do not have a place to live. My husband and I spent 5 hours Sunday looking at houses closer to our respective jobs. The tonier part of our county, where we need to relocate to, has wonderful places to live, if one of you is a bond trader and the other dabbles in antiques and sits on the board of several non-profit groups for fun. If you happen to be a public school teacher married to a chef without his own line of cookware and/or tv show on the Food Network, well then, there are some fixer-uppers (read: woodland animals have been living in them for decades)  and relative “steals” (read: eccentric NYC second-home homeowners can’t seem to part with the family’s former “cottage” for less than $500,000) to be had if you know where to look.

I refuse to panic because I know that we can actually live in our cars for the few weeks that school is in session after June 4th. There are enough small pieces of food in my car alone to feed a family of 5 for several days, we’ll just have to pry it out of the carpet and carseats. It’ll be like Katniss and Peeta in the Hunger Games, foraging and pushing each other around for the best morsels of preserved Goldfish and Pirate Booty bits! And of course, I can shower at school, lord knows none of my students shower after PE so I’ll have the locker room to myself.

In the meantime, I’m packing packing like a fiend. Like an “anit-hoarder” I’m trying to discard as many things as possible to lighten our potential load. If only I could lighten the psychic load I am carrying around in my head, then perhaps I could sleep. Or concentrate long enough to read and comprehend a page of text. Until then, it’s onward…tonight we look at several houses with the kidlets in tow, perhaps they can help us visualize the diamond within the rough of our price range. Keeping fingers crossed…

